Revising a document

The REVISING phase allows authorized reviewers to work together to update and refine a document. Review Queue members can collaboratively edit without taking ownership. After revisions are complete, close the collaborative editing session before marking the phase complete. Reviewers can have rights to either:

  • Add comments to a document.

  • Add comments and edit the document.

You should receive an email with a link to the document to review. Or, you can search for the document from the left menu, Documents.

Note

If your Starter Document is imported in .pdf format, it cannot be edited within the Document Editor.

Follow these steps to review and revise the document.

  1. Navigate to Finding and managing documents.

  2. On the document's General Info tab, update the information, if you have security rights.

  3. Select the Document Editor tab.

  4. In the Outline, select a section to review and select the Edit button.

  5. To add a comment, select the text to comment on then select Comments. Enter the comment and select the red left arrow.

  6. If you have editing rights, edit the document. In the example above, the phrase world wide was entered and displays in red text. For editing selections, see Using the Document Editor.

  7. Select Save Document to save the document section and continue to a new section.

Revising and approving documents

Revising and approving a document is a continuous process. If a change is made after a group has approved a document, the system detects the change, resets the review cycle, and notifies the appropriate staffs for revising and approving the documents. This ensures every group has signed off on the final document.

You can view changes in the document by selecting the History Viewer tab. For more information, see Viewing a document's history.

Mark a phase or task as complete

  • Editing must be finished and the collaborative session closed before Mark Complete becomes available.

  • Go to the document's Review Cycle tab, select the three dots on the right of the phase or task, then select Mark Complete. The task is marked as completed and will only reopen as part of the iterative review and approval phases.

The review cycle continues to the next phase, approving. See Approving a document.