Taking or releasing ownership of a task

Use ownership controls for workflow stages that still require a single person to take responsibility for a task. Ownership-based workflow controls apply in the APPROVING, PUBLISHING, and CLOSURE phases.

Important

  • The DRAFTING and REVISING phases now support collaborative editing. During these phases, taking ownership is not required to edit a document.

  • If a review queue is assigned to the document, review queue members can collaboratively edit the document. If no review queue is assigned, only the document owner or an administrator can edit the document.

  • Up to 5 users can collaboratively edit a document at the same time.

  • If multiple users are still editing the document, Mark Complete can be unavailable until editing is finished and the document is closed out of active editing.

  • For documents created after Collaborative Editing is enabled: Late Task notifications are not triggered for the Drafting and Revising phases, even if they are configured, as there is no ownership-based assignment.

When ownership applies

Ownership applies to workflow stages that continue to use ownership controls:

  • APPROVING

  • PUBLISHING

  • CLOSURE

Ownership no longer controls editing access in these workflow stages:

  • DRAFTING

  • REVISING

 

Manage ownership from the Review Cycle tab

  1. Navigate to Finding and managing documents.

  2. From the document's Review Cycle tab, select the task.

  3. Select the more options icon next to the task name.

  4. If the task is in the APPROVING, PUBLISHING, or CLOSURE phase, select one of the following:

    1. Take Ownership to perform work on the task.

    2. Release Ownership to let another person in the review queue work on the task. The task remains open for any number of users to take ownership until the task is marked as completed .

Manage work from the Tasks page

You can work from the Tasks page as follows:

  1. From the left navigation menu, select Tasks.

  2. Select My Tasks to view the tasks that are assigned to you.

  3. Select Unassigned to view open work generated to complete a document review cycle.

For new documents in DRAFTING and REVISING, collaborative editing work appears as unassigned work instead of ownership-based edit tasks. Existing documents that already had ownership assigned before co-authoring was introduced can still appear under My Tasks until those legacy tasks are completed.

Legacy behavior for existing documents

Existing documents that already used ownership-based Drafting or Revising tasks can continue to show legacy behavior after co-authoring is introduced. For example, an existing document can still appear under My Tasks if ownership was already taken before the new collaborative workflow was enabled.

For newly created collaborative Drafting and Revising work, editing is treated as collaborative work and does not use the previous ownership-based edit-task model.