Configuring advanced notification settings
Use Advanced Notifications to configure notifications in Risk Manager for workflow status changes, when a user is added to or removed from an object, when an object is deleted, and attribute-level changes.
Note
This topic documents the current behavior for the Risk Manager notification service modernization.
Permissions
Only users with the System Admin role can access and update Advanced Notifications settings.
Opening advanced notifications
-
From the Platform home page (www.diligentoneplatform.com), select the Risk Manager app to open it.
If you are already in Diligent One, you can use the left-hand navigation menu to switch to the Risk Manager app.
- In the left navigation panel, select Settings.
- Select Advanced Notifications.
Configuring workflow status change notifications
Use workflow status change notifications to notify stakeholders when an object moves to a configured workflow stage.
- Recipients Configure roles and user lookup fields for each workflow status.
- Notification note Notifications include the object name, object type, new workflow stage, object link, and the notification note for that object type.
- Default recipient behavior
If the User lookup field is left empty, all user lookups receive notifications by default. To notify specific users, select one or more user lookups in the User lookup dropdown.
This behavior applies across Risks, Controls, Processes, Objectives, Risk Assessments, Control Assessments, and configured custom child object types.
Configuring object assignment, removal, and deletion notifications
You can configure notifications independently for each object type when a user is added to an object, when a user is removed from an object, or when the object is deleted.
- Recipient selection
If the User lookup field is left empty, all user lookups receive notifications by default. To notify specific users, select one or more user lookups in the User lookup dropdown.
- User added A notification is sent when a user is added to a monitored lookup field. Notifications include the object name, object type, lookup field name, assignment type, object link, and the notification note configured for that object type and notification type.
- User removed A notification is sent when a user is removed from a monitored lookup field. Notifications include the object name, object type, lookup field name, removal type, object link, and the notification note configured for that object type and notification type.
- Object deleted A notification is sent when an object is deleted if the user is included in the Notify User lookup field. Notifications include the object name, object type, lookup field name, deletion type, object link, and the notification note configured for that object type and notification type.
Configuring attribute-level change notifications
Attribute-level notifications let you send notifications only when configured conditions are met for a specific object type.
- Logic groups Create named groups of one or more conditions.
- Group operator Set each group to Any condition is met (OR) or All conditions are met (AND).
- Recipients per group
If the User lookup field is left empty, all user lookups receive notifications by default. To notify specific users, select one or more user lookups in the User lookup dropdown.
- Multiple groups You can configure multiple logic groups for the same object type, and reuse the same attribute in different groups.
Supported condition operators depend on field type:
| Field type | Supported operators |
|---|---|
| Boolean | is true, is false, is blank, is not blank, is changed |
| Number | equals to, not equals to, greater than, greater than or equals to, less than, less than or equals to, is between, is blank, is not blank, is changed |
| Text | contains, not contains, equals to, not equals to, is blank, is not blank, is changed |
| Select | equals to, not equals to, is blank, is not blank, is changed |
Attribute-level notifications include object name, object type, logic group name, new attribute value, object link, and the notification note.
Note
If no logic groups are configured for an object type, no attribute-level notifications are sent for that object type.
Notification links and access behavior
Notifications include links to the relevant object details page in Risk Manager.
If a recipient does not have access to the linked object, the user is shown a permission error.
Notification preferences
Admins and users can see different views for their notification preferences.
- Admin view Admins can configure notifications for an organization and all users from Platform Settings > Notification Settings > Product-specific notification settings > Risk Manager.
- User view Users can manage their own notification preferences from Profile > Notification Preferences > Risk Manager.
- Available options The available options include Attribute changes, Business Object Assignment, Business Object Owner Changed, Ownership Changes, and Workflow status notifications.
- Option behavior Attribute changes, Ownership changes, and Workflow status notifications can be modified in Advanced Notifications in Risk Manager. Business Object Assignment and Business Object Owner Changed are legacy notifications that admins can disable.
- Delivery timing Admins can set notification delivery for all users to Immediate updates, grouped by 5, 15, or 60 minutes, or daily grouped at 8 a.m., 12 p.m., or 6 p.m.
- User control Users can enable or disable notifications for themselves.
- Default state Admins can set the default notification state for all users.