Taking or releasing ownership of a task

Use ownership controls for workflow stages that still require a single person to take responsibility for a task. Ownership-based workflow controls apply in the APPROVING, PUBLISHING, and CLOSURE phases.

Important

  • The DRAFTING and REVISING phases now support collaborative editing. During these phases, taking ownership is not required to edit a document.

  • If a review queue is assigned to the document, review queue members can collaboratively edit the document. If no review queue is assigned, only the document owner or an administrator can edit the document.

  • Up to 5 users can collaboratively edit a document at the same time.

  • If multiple users are still editing the document, Mark Complete can be unavailable until editing is finished and the document is closed out of active editing.

  • For documents created after Collaborative Editing is enabled: Late Task notifications are not triggered for the Drafting and Revising phases, even if they are configured, as there is no ownership-based assignment.

When ownership applies

所有权适用于继续使用所有权控制措施的工作流阶段:

  • 正在审批

  • 正在发布

  • 关闭

所有权不再控制以下工作流阶段中的编辑访问权限:

  • 草稿

  • 正在修订

 

Manage ownership from the Review Cycle tab

  1. Navigate to Finding and managing documents.

  2. From the document's Review Cycle tab, select the task.

  3. Select the more options icon next to the task name.

  4. If the task is in the APPROVING, PUBLISHING, or CLOSURE phase, select one of the following:

    1. Take Ownership to perform work on the task.

    2. Release Ownership to let another person in the review queue work on the task. The task remains open for any number of users to take ownership until the task is marked as completed .

Manage work from the Tasks page

You can work from the Tasks page as follows:

  1. 在左侧导航菜单中,选择任务。

  2. 选择我的任务以查看指派给您的任务。

  3. 选择未分配以查看为完成文档审阅周期而生成的待办工作。

对于处于起草和修订阶段的新文档,协作编辑工作将显示为未分配工作,而非基于所有权的编辑任务。在引入共同创作之前已指定所有权的现有文档仍会显示在我的任务下,直至这些历史任务完成。

Legacy behavior for existing documents

Existing documents that already used ownership-based Drafting or Revising tasks can continue to show legacy behavior after co-authoring is introduced. For example, an existing document can still appear under My Tasks if ownership was already taken before the new collaborative workflow was enabled.

For newly created collaborative Drafting and Revising work, editing is treated as collaborative work and does not use the previous ownership-based edit-task model.