Find your tasks
The Tasks page displays the work generated to complete a document review cycle. Select My Tasks to view tasks that are assigned to you or select Unassigned to view open work items in a document review cycle. For new documents in the DRAFTING and REVISING phases, collaborative editing work appears as unassigned work instead of ownership-based edit tasks. Existing documents that already had ownership assigned before co-authoring was introduced can still appear under My Tasks until those legacy tasks are completed.
Important
-
In the DRAFTING and REVISING phases, taking ownership is not required to edit. If a Review Queue is assigned, its members can collaboratively edit the document. If no Review Queue is assigned, only the document owner or an administrator can edit it.
-
For newly created documents, DRAFTING and REVISING work currently appears under Unassigned for all Review Queue members rather than as an ownership-based edit task.
-
Existing documents that already had ownership assigned continue to follow the legacy task behavior: the current owner can see the task under My Tasks during the current review cycle.
-
Up to 5 users can collaboratively edit a document at the same time.
-
In the APPROVING, PUBLISHING, and CLOSURE phases, ownership-based task handling continues to apply.
Where to find tasks
-
From the left navigation menu, select Tasks.
-
Select My Tasks to view the tasks that are assigned to you.
-
Select Unassigned to view open work generated to complete a document review cycle.
For new documents in DRAFTING and REVISING, collaborative editing work appears as unassigned work instead of ownership-based edit tasks. Existing documents that already had ownership assigned before co-authoring was introduced can still appear under My Tasks until those legacy tasks are completed.
Who owns the task
Ownership applies to workflow stages that continue to use ownership controls:
-
APPROVING
-
PUBLISHING
-
CLOSURE
Ownership no longer controls editing access in these workflow stages:
-
DRAFTING
-
REVISING
Note
Ownership-based actions still apply in workflow stages that continue to use ownership controls, such as APPROVING, PUBLISHING, and CLOSURE. For more information, see Taking or releasing ownership of a task.